Dec 2017: Past President’s Annual Dinner

Our annual Past Presidents’ Dinner & Election Night was once again a success, with 50 members and guests in attendance.
Many gathered for social time and then moved to the banquet room to enjoy a wonderful dinner.

Following dinner, Mike Wenholz, senior planner at the Duluth-Superior Metropolitan Interstate Council (MIC) regional transportation planning entity, briefly spoke about what the MIC entails and shared with us information pertaining to the 2017 Duluth-Superior Truck Route Study.
Our Past Presidents’ were then recognized, with several speaking about topics such as the need to seek out shipping and rail points of contact in an effort to bring them back into the DSTA fold.

Voting ensued and while ballots were being counted, awards for our Fall into Fitness Challenge were disbursed. Some interesting statistics: 16 teams (80 participants) from four companies took part in this seven week challenge with a total of 751.7 pounds lost overall!

Once ballots were counted, the 2018 Board of Directors and Officers were announced.

President: Gina Schneider, Lawrence Cumpston & Associates
1st VP: Joe Schiff, Charter NEX Films
2nd VP: Neil Johnson, Halvor Lines
Secretary: Ian Schoenike, Jeff Foster Trucking
Treasurer: Dawn Evans, Dave Evans Transports
Director 2017-2018: Brad Roden, National Bank of Commerce
Director 2017-2018: Pete Majkozak, Halvor Lines
Director 2018-2019: Miriam Hanson, Jeff Foster Trucking
Director 2018-2019: Pat Murphy, Raveill Trucking
Retiree/Past President: Jon Vinje, Halvor Lines
Editor: Chelsea Loining, Halvor Lines
Past President: Leyla Aktekin, Jeff Foster Trucking
Congratulations to all, and thank you to outgoing members Russ Ramsay, Bonnie Ramsay, Jay Baker, and Carl Svendsen for your service.